Grad Students

Filter by Research Area

Maya L. Allen

Photo: Maya Allen

PhD student

She/her
Email: 
mlallen@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Kenneth Whitney

Research Area(s)

Evolutionary Biology,  Plant Biology,  Population Genetics & Phylogenetics,  Systematics/Phylogenetics

Christopher Anderson

PhD student

Email: 
cganderson@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Steven Poe

Antonia Androski

Photo: Antonia Androski

PhD student

Email: 
aandroski@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Joseph Cook

Kimimila Atcitty

MS student

Email: 
katcitty@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Blair Wolf

Caitlin Babbitt

PhD student

Email: 
cbabbit@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Eric Loker

Maryam Bahmani

MS student

Email: 
mabahmani@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Christopher Johnston

Quin Baine

Photo: Quin Baine

MS student

She/they
Email: 
qbaine11@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Ellen O Martinson

Research Area(s)

Evolutionary Biology,  Invertebrate Biology,  Systematics/Phylogenetics,  Terrestrial Ecology

Reese Baker

PhD student

Email: 
rbbaker4035@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Lee Taylor

Joseph Barnett

MS student

Email: 
josephcbarnett@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Steven Poe

Jessica Belmares-Ortega

Photo: Jessica Belmares-Ortega

PhD student

Email: 
jbelmares@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Eric Denkers

Research Area(s)

Immunology

Alexi Besser

Photo: Alexi Besser

PhD student

Email: 
acbesser@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Seth Newsome

Keara Bixby

Photo: Keara Bixby

MS student

Email: 
bixbyk@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Jennifer Rudgers

Amanda Boutz

PhD student

Email: 
aboutz@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
William Pockman

Taylor Britton

PhD student

Email: 
tbritton@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
David Hanson

Renée F. Brown

PhD student

She/her
Email: 
rfbrown@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Scott L. Collins
Website

Research Area(s)

Global Change Biology,  Terrestrial Ecology

Connor Burgin

Photo: Connor Burgin

PhD student

Email: 
cburgin@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Joseph Cook

Juan Camacho

Photo: Juan Camacho

MS student

Email: 
juancamacho@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Scott Collins

David Camak

PhD student

Email: 
dcamak@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Thomas Turner

Alexander Cameron

PhD student

Email: 
alcameron@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Thomas Turner

Marina Casiano Ruiz

MS student

Email: 
mcasianoruiz@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Felisa Smith

Marialejandra (Malé) Castro Farias

Photo: Marialejandra (Malé) Castro Farias

MS student

Email: 
mcastrof2@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Chris Witt

Emma Cleary

MS student

Email: 
eclear01@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Kelly Miller

Joseph Crockett

PhD student

Email: 
jcrockett@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Matthew Hurteau

Research Area(s)

Global Change Biology,  Terrestrial Ecology

Claire Doherty

Photo: Claire Doherty

PhD student

She/her
Email: 
cdoherty5@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Eric Denkers
Website

Research Area(s)

Immunology,  Microbiology,  Parasitology

Katelyn Driscoll

PhD student

Email: 
kdriscoll@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Thomas Turner

Jonathan Duran

MS student

Email: 
jduran63@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Lisa Barrow
Website

Research Area(s)

Animal Ecology,  Conservation Biology,  Parasitology

Sasha Escamilla

Photo: Sasha Escamilla

MS student

Email: 
sescamilla@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Scott Collins, Marcy Litvak

Elizabeth Fain

MS student

Email: 
efain@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Scott Collins

Chauncey Gadek

PhD student

Email: 
cgadek@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Chris Witt

Ben Garcia

PhD student

He/him
Email: 
bgarcia17@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Irene Salinas

Research Area(s)

Comparative Biology,  Immunology

Benjamin Gerstner

Photo: Benjamin Gerstner

PhD student

He/him
Email: 
bgerstner@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Ken Whitney
Website

Research Area(s)

Evolutionary Biology,  Plant Biology,  Population Genetics & Phylogenetics

Eliza Gilbert

PhD student

Email: 
egilbe01@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Thomas Turner

Marissa Goodwin

MS student

Email: 
mjgoodwin@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Matthew Hurteau

Ivana Gulisija

MS student

Email: 
igulisijaradic3@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Vincent Martinson

Ethan Gyllenhaal

Photo: Ethan Gyllenhaal

PhD student

He/his
Email: 
egyllenhaal@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Michael Andersen
Website

Research Area(s)

Computational Biology & Genomics,  Evolutionary Biology,  Population Genetics & Phylogenetics,  Systematics/Phylogenetics

Kristofer Hall

PhD student

Email: 
khall001@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Jennifer Rudgers

Shayne Halter

PhD student

Email: 
shalter@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Blair Wolf

Aisha Hamid

Photo: Aisha Hamid

PhD student

Email: 
iaishahamid@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Syed Murbarak Hussain
Website

Research Area(s)

Developmental Biology,  Genetics

Gregor Hamilton

PhD student

Email: 
ghamilton@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Thomas Turner

Carson Hedberg

Photo: Carson Hedberg

PhD student

Email: 
chedberg@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Felisa Smith

Austin Hendricks

PhD student

Email: 
austinhendricks@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Vincent Martinson

Daniel Hughes

PhD student

Email: 
hughesd@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Christina Takacs-Vesbach

Jessica Johnson

MS student

Email: 
jjohnson6@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Jennifer Rudgers

Melanie Kazenel

Photo: Melanie Kazenel

PhD student

Email: 
mkazenel@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Jennifer Rudgers, Kenneth Whitney

Jonathan Keller

PhD student

Email: 
jskeller@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Felisa Smith

Megan Keller

Photo: Megan Keller

PhD student

Email: 
mlkeller@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Lee Taylor

Joseph Kleinkopf

Photo: Joseph Kleinkopf

PhD student

He/him
Email: 
jkleinkopf@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Hannah Marx
Website

Research Area(s)

Evolutionary Biology,  Plant Biology,  Systematics/Phylogenetics,  Terrestrial Ecology

John Korbin

PhD student

Email: 
johnkorbin@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Joseph Cook

Aurora Kraus

PhD student

Email: 
akraus@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Irene Salinas

Manuela Lodoño Gaviria

Photo: Manuela Lodoño-Gaviria

MS student

Email: 
mlondono@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Joseph Cook

Caleb Loughran

PhD student

Email: 
loughran@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Blair Wolf

Diana Macias

Photo: Diana Macias

PhD student

Email: 
maciasd@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
David Hanson

Amir Mani Varnoosfaderani

Photo: Amir Mani Varnoosfaderani

PhD student

Email: 
amani@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Irene Salinas

Michael Mann

PhD student

Email: 
mimann@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Jennifer Rudgers, Lee Taylor

Jessie Marlenee

PhD student

Email: 
jmarlenee@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Lee Taylor

Peter Mattison

PhD student

Email: 
pmattison@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Christopher Witt

Carolina May

MS student

Email: 
cjmay@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Matthew Hurteau

Jenna McCullough

Photo: Jenna McCullough

PhD student

She/her
Email: 
mcculloughj@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Michael Andersen
Website

Research Area(s)

Evolutionary Biology,  Genetics,  Population Genetics & Phylogenetics,  Systematics/Phylogenetics

Chris McDaniels

PhD student

Email: 
cmcdaniels1@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Lisa Barrow

Tabitha McFarland

PhD student

Email: 
tmcfarland@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Joseph Cook

Jade McLaughlin

MS student

Email: 
jmclaugh@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Jennifer Rudgers

Conner Mertz

Photo: Conner Mertz

PhD student

Email: 
cmertz@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Christina Takacs-Vesbach

Cassandra Miller

Photo: Cassandra Miller

PhD student

Email: 
millerca@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Jennifer Rudgers, Lee Taylor

Saquib Mohammed

MS student

Email: 
saquibm@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Christopher Johnston

Kyana Montoya

MS student

Email: 
kynimo3@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Chris Witt

Kimberly Morrissey

PhD student

Email: 
kmorrissey@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Miller

Tonny Nyonga

PhD student

Email: 
tonnymaraga@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
David Hanson

Timothy Ohlert

Photo: Timothy Ohlert

PhD student

He/him
Email: 
tohlert@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Scott Collins
Website

Research Area(s)

Global Change Biology,  Terrestrial Ecology

Kristen Oliver

Photo: Kristen Oliver

MS student

Email: 
kristenoliver@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Blair Wolf

Oliver Oviedo

MS student

Email: 
ooviedo@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
David Hanson

Mariah Patton

PhD student

Email: 
mtpatton@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Jennifer Rudgers, Scott Collins

Erica Pauer

MS student

Email: 
pauereg@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
David Hanson

Nolan Perryman

Photo: Nolan Perryman

PhD student

Email: 
nope0540@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Seth Newsome

Dianne Peterson

MS student

Email: 
dipeterson@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Joseph Cook

Anastasia Pittis

Photo: Anastasia Pittis

MS student

Email: 
apittis@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Donald Natvig, Diana Northup

Richard Ramirez

PhD student

Email: 
ricram@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Blair Wolf

Corrie Reasner

Photo: Corrie Reasner

MS student

She/her
Email: 
cdreas88@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Marcy Litvak

David Robinson

PhD student

Email: 
drob2727@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Christina Takacs-Vesbach

John Roesgen

PhD student

Email: 
jroesgen@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
David Hanson

Theodore Roper

PhD student

Email: 
troper@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Marcy Litvak

Zoë Rossman

Photo: Zoë Rossman

PhD student

Email: 
ztrossman@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Felisa Smith

Eve Rowland

Photo: Eve Rowland

PhD student

She/her
Email: 
erowland@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Davorka Gulisija
Website

Research Area(s)

Computational Biology & Genomics,  Molecular Evolution,  Population Genetics & Phylogenetics

Jordan Sampson

PhD student

Email: 
sampsonj@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Robert Miller

Yago Santos

PhD student

Email: 
yvserra30@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Irene Salinas

Katlin Schroeder

PhD student

Email: 
maguire@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Felisa Smith

Steven Severance

MS student

Email: 
ossoisi@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Kenneth Whitney

Elizabeth Solis

PhD student

Email: 
esolis2@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Martinson

Oona Takano

Photo: Oona Takano

PhD student

she/her
Email: 
otakano@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Chris Witt

Research Area(s)

Evolutionary Biology,  Paleoecology,  Vertebrate Biology

William Talbot

PhD student

Email: 
wtalbot@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Blair Wolf

David Tan Jain Xiong

Photo: David Tan Jain Xiong

PhD student

Email: 
davidtan@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Michael Andersen

Benjamin Turnley

Photo: Benjamin Turnley

PhD student

Email: 
bturnley@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Kenneth Whitney

Nicholas T. Vinciguerra

Photo: Nicholas Vinciguerra

PhD student

Email: 
nvinciguerra@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Michael J. Andersen

Research Area(s)

Systematics/Phylogenetics

Richard Wagner

MS student

Email: 
rwagner1@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Lee Taylor

Adil Wani

PhD student

Email: 
arashidwani@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Murbarak Syed

Kathleen Webster

Photo: Kathleen Webster

PhD student

Email: 
kcwebster11@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Lisa Barrow

Liota Weinbaum-Gongorra

Photo: Liota Weinbaum-Gongorra

PhD student

She/ella
Email: 
liotaw@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Helen J. Wearing

Research Area(s)

Mathematical Biology,  Parasitology

Jessie Williamson

Photo: Jessie Williamson

PhD student

She/her
Email: 
williamson@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Chris Witt
Website

Research Area(s)

Comparative Biology,  Computational Biology & Genomics,  Evolutionary Biology,  Physiological Ecology,  Population Genetics & Phylogenetics

Kevin Willson

Photo: Kevin Willson

PhD student

He/him
Email: 
kgwillson@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Matthew Hurteau
Website

Research Area(s)

Terrestrial Ecology

Purbendra Yogi

Photo: Purbendra  Yogi

MS student

Email: 
yogip@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Jennifer Rudgers

Shaun Ziegler

PhD student

Email: 
smziegle@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Jennifer Rudgers