Grad Students

Filter by Research Area

Maya L. Allen

Photo: Maya Allen

PhD student

She/her
Email: 
mlallen@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Kenneth Whitney

Research Area(s)

Evolutionary Biology,  Plant Biology,  Population Genetics & Phylogenetics,  Systematics/Phylogenetics

Christopher Anderson

Email: 
cganderson@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Steven Poe

Antonia Androski

Email: 
aandroski@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Joseph Cook

Kimimila Atcitty

Email: 
katcitty@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Blair Wolf

Caitlin Babbitt

Email: 
cbabbit@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Eric Loker

Maryam Bahmani

Email: 
mabahmani@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Christopher Johnston

Quin Baine

Photo: Quin Baine

MS student

She/they
Email: 
qbaine11@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Ellen O Martinson

Research Area(s)

Evolutionary Biology,  Invertebrate Biology,  Systematics/Phylogenetics,  Terrestrial Ecology

Reese Baker

Email: 
rbbaker4035@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Lee Taylor

Joseph Barnett

Faculty Advisor: 
Steven Poe

Jessica Belmares-Ortega

Photo: Jessica Belmares-Ortega

PhD student

Email: 
jbelmares@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Eric Denkers

Research Area(s)

Immunology

Alexi Besser

Email: 
acbesser@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Seth Newsome

Keara Bixby

Email: 
bixbyk@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Jennifer Rudgers

Christina Blevins

Email: 
cblevins@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Seth Newsome

Taylor Britton

Email: 
tbritton@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
David Hanson

Samantha Brodley

Email: 
sbrodley@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Scott Collins

David Cakmak

Email: 
dcakmak@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Thomas Turner

Juan Camacho

Email: 
juancamacho@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Scott Collins

Alexander Cameron

Email: 
alcameron@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Thomas Turner

Marina Casiano

Email: 
mcasianoruiz@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Felisa Smith

Marialejandra Castro Farias

Email: 
mcastrof2@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Chris Witt

Kelsey Cook

Email: 
kcook2@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Lee Taylor

Joseph Crockett

Email: 
jcrockett@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Matthew Hurteau

Claire Doherty

Photo: Claire Doherty

PhD student

She/her
Email: 
cdoherty5@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Eric Denkers
Website

Research Area(s)

Immunology,  Microbiology,  Parasitology

Jonathan Duran

Email: 
jduran63@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Lisa Barrow

Sasha Escamilla

Email: 
sescamilla@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Scott Collins, Marcy Litvak

Elizabeth Fain

Email: 
efain@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Scott Collins

Chauncey Gadek

Email: 
cgadek@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Chris Witt

Ben Garcia

PhD student

He/him
Email: 
bgarcia17@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Irene Salinas

Research Area(s)

Comparative Biology,  Immunology

Benjamin Gerstner

Photo: Benjamin Gerstner

PhD student

He/him
Email: 
bgerstner@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Ken Whitney
Website

Research Area(s)

Evolutionary Biology,  Plant Biology,  Population Genetics & Phylogenetics

Eliza Gilbert

Email: 
egilbe01@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Thomas Turner

Ivana Gulisija

MS student

Email: 
igulisijaradic3@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Vincent Martinson

Ethan Gyllenhaal

Photo: Ethan Gyllenhaal

PhD student

He/his
Email: 
egyllenhaal@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Michael Andersen
Website

Research Area(s)

Computational Biology & Genomics,  Evolutionary Biology,  Population Genetics & Phylogenetics,  Systematics/Phylogenetics

Shayne Halter

Email: 
shalter@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Blair Wolf

Aisha Hamid

Email: 
iaishahamid@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Murbarak Syed

Gregor Hamilton

Email: 
ghamilton@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Thomas Turner

Carson Hedberg

Email: 
chedberg@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Felisa Smith

Austin Hendricks

PhD student

Email: 
austinhendricks@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Vincent Martinson

Daniel Hughes

Email: 
hughesd@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Christina Takacs-Vesbach

Melanie Kazenel

Email: 
mkazenel@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Jennifer Rudgers, Kenneth Whitney

Jonathan Keller

Email: 
jskeller@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Felisa Smith

Megan Keller

PhD student

Email: 
mlkeller@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Lee Taylor

Joseph Kleinkopf

Photo: Joseph Kleinkopf

PhD student

He/him
Email: 
jkleinkopf@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Hannah Marx
Website

Research Area(s)

Evolutionary Biology,  Plant Biology,  Systematics/Phylogenetics,  Terrestrial Ecology

John Korbin

Email: 
johnkorbin@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Joseph Cook

Aurora Kraus

Email: 
akraus@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Irene Salinas

Schuyler Liphardt

Email: 
liphardt@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Joseph Cook

Manuela Lodoño

Email: 
mlondono@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Joseph Cook

Andrea Lopez

Email: 
a12755@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Scott Collins

Caleb Loughran

Email: 
loughran@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Blair Wolf

Lijun Lu

Email: 
lijun80@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Eric Loker

Diana Macias

Email: 
maciasd@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
David Hanson

Amir Mani Varnoosfaderani

Email: 
a0012252301@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Irene Salinas

Michael Mann

Email: 
mimann@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Jennifer Rudgers, Lee Taylor

Jessie Marlenee

Email: 
jmarlenee@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Lee Taylor

Carolina May

Email: 
cjmay@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Matthew Hurteau

Jenna McCullough

Photo: Jenna McCullough

PhD student

She/her
Email: 
mcculloughj@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Michael Andersen
Website

Research Area(s)

Evolutionary Biology,  Genetics,  Population Genetics & Phylogenetics,  Systematics/Phylogenetics

Chris McDaniels

Email: 
cmcdaniels1@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Lisa Barrow

Tabitha McFarland

Email: 
tmcfarland@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Joseph Cook

Connor Mertz

Email: 
cmertz@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Christina Takacs-Vesbach

Cassandra Miller

Email: 
millerca@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Jennifer Rudgers, Lee Taylor

Saquib Mohammad

Email: 
saquibm@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Christopher Johnston

Kyana Montoya

Email: 
kynimo3@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Chris Witt

Kimberly Morrissey

Email: 
kmorrissey@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Miller

Tonny Nyonga

Email: 
tonnymaraga@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
David Hanson

Timothy Ohlert

Photo: Timothy Ohlert

PhD student

He/him
Email: 
tohlert@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Scott Collins
Website

Research Area(s)

Global Change Biology,  Terrestrial Ecology

Kristen Oliver

Email: 
kristenoliver@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Blair Wolf

Oliver Oviedo

Email: 
ooviedo@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
David Hanson

Mariah Patton

Email: 
mtpatton@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Jennifer Rudgers, Scott Collins

Erica Pauer

Email: 
pauereg@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
David Hanson

Nolan Perryman

Email: 
nope0540@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Seth Newsome

Diane Peterson

Email: 
dipeterson@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Joseph Cook

Anastasia Pittis

Email: 
apittis@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Donald Natvig, Diana Northup

Richard Ramirez

Email: 
ricram@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Blair Wolf

Corrie Reasner

Email: 
cdreas88@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Marcy Litvak

Emily Reynebeau

Email: 
ereynebeau@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Christina Takacs-Vesbach

David Robinson

Email: 
drob2727@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Christina Takacs-Vesbach

John Roesgen

Email: 
jroesgen@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
David Hanson

Theodore Roper

Email: 
troper@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Marcy Litvak

Zoë Rossman

Email: 
ztrossman@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Felisa Smith

Eve Rowland

Email: 
erowland@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Davorka Gulisija

Jordan Sampson

Email: 
sampsonj@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Robert Miller

Yago Santos

Email: 
yvserra30@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Irene Salinas

Katlin Schroeder

Email: 
maguire@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Felisa Smith

Steven Severance

Email: 
ossoisi@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Kenneth Whitney

Elizabeth Solis

Email: 
esolis2@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Martinson

Oona Takano

Photo: Oona Takano

PhD student

she/her
Email: 
otakano@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Chris Witt

Research Area(s)

Evolutionary Biology,  Paleoecology,  Vertebrate Biology

William Talbot

Email: 
wtalbot@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Blair Wolf

David Tan Jain Xiong

Email: 
davidtan@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Michael Andersen

Benjamin Turnley

Email: 
bturnley@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Kenneth Whitney

Nicholas T. Vinciguerra

Photo: Nicholas Vinciguerra

PhD student

Email: 
nvinciguerra@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Michael J. Andersen

Research Area(s)

Systematics/Phylogenetics

Richard Wagner

Email: 
rwagner1@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Lee Taylor

Adil Wani

Email: 
arashidwani@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Murbarak Syed

Kathleen Webster

Email: 
kcwebster11@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Lisa Barrow

Liota Weinbaum-Gongorra

Photo: Liota Weinbaum-Gongorra

PhD student

She/ella
Email: 
liotaw@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Helen J. Wearing

Research Area(s)

Mathematical Biology,  Parasitology

Jessie Williamson

Photo: Jessie Williamson

PhD student

She/her
Email: 
williamson@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Chris Witt
Website

Research Area(s)

Comparative Biology,  Computational Biology & Genomics,  Evolutionary Biology,  Physiological Ecology,  Population Genetics & Phylogenetics

Kevin Willson

Photo: Kevin Willson

PhD student

He/him
Email: 
kgwillson@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Matthew Hurteau
Website

Research Area(s)

Terrestrial Ecology

Shaun Ziegler

Email: 
smziegle@unm.edu
Faculty Advisor: 
Jennifer Rudgers