Faculty

Filter by Research Area

Coenraad Adema

Photo: Coenraad Adema

Professor

Email: 
coenadem@unm.edu
Phone: 
505-277-2743
Office: 
Castetter Hall 2428
Website

Research Area(s)

Cell Biology,  Comparative Biology,  Computational Biology & Genomics,  Immunology,  Invertebrate Biology,  Parasitology

Michael J. Andersen

Photo: Michael J. Andersen

Associate Professor

Curator, Division of Genomic Resources, Museum of Southwestern Biology

Email: 
mjandersen@unm.edu
Phone: 
505-277-8017
Office: 
CERIA 312
Website

Research Area(s)

Conservation Biology,  Molecular Evolution,  Systematics/Phylogenetics

Lisa Barrow

Photo: Lisa Barrow

Assistant Professor

Curator, Division of Amphibians & Reptiles, Museum of Southwestern Biology

Email: 
lnbarrow@unm.edu
Phone: 
505-277-3524
Office: 
CERIA 226
Website

Research Area(s)

Comparative Biology,  Computational Biology & Genomics,  Conservation Biology,  Evolutionary Biology,  Parasitology,  Population Genetics & Phylogenetics,  Systematics/Phylogenetics,  Vertebrate Biology

Kimran E. Buckholz

Photo: Kimran E Buckholz

Senior Lecturer

Email: 
kbuckholz@unm.edu
Phone: 
505-277-0934
Office: 
67 Castetter Hall

Research Area(s)

Animal Ecology

Scott L. Collins

Photo: Scott L. Collins

Distinguished Professor

Email: 
scollins@unm.edu
Phone: 
505-277-6303
Office: 
Castetter Hall 3586
Website

Research Area(s)

Conservation Biology,  Global Change Biology,  Plant Biology,  Terrestrial Ecology

Joseph A. Cook

Photo: Joseph A. Cook

Distinguished Professor

Curator, Division of Mammals, Museum of Southwestern Biology

Email: 
cookjose@unm.edu
Phone: 
505-277-1358
Office: 
CERIA 229
Website

Research Area(s)

Conservation Biology,  Evolutionary Biology,  Parasitology,  Population Genetics & Phylogenetics,  Systematics/Phylogenetics,  Vertebrate Biology

Eric Y. Denkers

Photo: Eric Y. Denkers

Professor

Email: 
edenkers@unm.edu
Phone: 
505-277-0287
Office: 
Castetter Hall 2566
Website

Research Area(s)

Cell Biology,  Genetics,  Immunology

Davorka Gulisija

Photo: Davorka Gulisija

Assistant Professor

Email: 
dgulisija@unm.edu
Website

Research Area(s)

Comparative Biology,  Computational Biology & Genomics,  Conservation Biology,  Evolutionary Biology,  Global Change Biology,  Mathematical Biology,  Molecular Evolution,  Population Genetics & Phylogenetics,  Theoretical Biology

Ben Hanelt

Photo: Ben Hanelt

Senior Lecturer

Email: 
bhanelt@unm.edu
Phone: 
505-277-2400
Office: 
Castetter Hall 71
Website

Research Area(s)

Immunology,  Parasitology

David T. Hanson

Photo: David T. Hanson

Professor

Interim Assistant Vice President for Research

Email: 
dthanson@unm.edu
Phone: 
505-277-6681
Office: 
Castetter Hall 1464
Website

Research Area(s)

Physiological Ecology,  Plant Biology

Kelly A. Howe

Photo: Kelly A. Howe

Principal Lecturer

Email: 
khowe@unm.edu
Phone: 
505-277-0701
Office: 
Castetter Hall 86
Website

Matthew D. Hurteau

Photo: Matthew D. Hurteau

Professor

Email: 
mhurteau@unm.edu
Phone: 
505-277-0863
Office: 
Castetter Hall 192
Website

Research Area(s)

Global Change Biology,  Terrestrial Ecology

Christopher A. Johnston

Photo: Christopher A. Johnston

Associate Professor

Email: 
johnstca@unm.edu
Phone: 
505-277-1567
Office: 
Castetter Hall 288
Website

Research Area(s)

Cell Biology,  Developmental Biology,  Genetics,  Molecular Evolution

Qussin B. Joo

Photo: Qussin Joo

Lecturer III

Email: 
qbjoo@unm.edu
Office: 
CAST 290

Research Area(s)

Cell Biology,  Genetics

Thomas L. Kennedy

Photo: Thomas L. Kennedy

Senior Lecturer

Email: 
tkennedy@unm.edu
Phone: 
505-277-1447
Office: 
Castetter Hall 73

Research Area(s)

Aquatic Ecology,  Terrestrial Ecology

Amanda L. Liebrecht

Photo: Amanda L. Liebrecht

Lecturer III

Email: 
ailiebre@unm.edu
Phone: 
505-277-3598
Office: 
69 Castetter Hall

Research Area(s)

Global Change Biology,  Physiological Ecology,  Plant Biology

Marcy E. Litvak

Photo: Marcy E. Litvak

Professor

Email: 
mlitvak@unm.edu
Phone: 
505-277-5580
Office: 
Castetter Hall 3564
Website

Research Area(s)

Global Change Biology,  Physiological Ecology,  Plant Biology,  Terrestrial Ecology

Ellen O. Martinson

Photo: Ellen O. Martinson

Assistant Professor

Email: 
emartinson@unm.edu
Website

Research Area(s)

Evolutionary Biology,  Invertebrate Biology

Vincent G. Martinson

Photo: Vincent G. Martinson

Assistant Professor

Email: 
vmartinson@unm.edu
Website

Research Area(s)

Genetics,  Invertebrate Biology,  Microbial Ecology,  Microbiology

Hannah Marx

Photo: Hannah Marx

Assistant Professor

Curator, Division of Herbarium, Museum of Southwestern Biology

Email: 
hmarx@unm.edu
Website

Research Area(s)

Evolutionary Biology,  Plant Biology,  Systematics/Phylogenetics

Moses J. Michelsohn

Photo: Moses J. Michelsohn

Lecturer II

Email: 
mmichelsohn@unm.edu
Phone: 
505-277-3645
Office: 
Castetter Hall 66

Kelly B. Miller

Photo: Kelly B. Miller

Professor

Director, Postbaccalaureate Research & Education Program (PREP)
Curator of Arthropods, Museum of Southwestern Biology

Email: 
kbmiller@unm.edu
Phone: 
505-277-4225
Office: 
CERIA 214
Website

Research Area(s)

Invertebrate Biology,  Molecular Evolution,  Systematics/Phylogenetics

Robert D. Miller

Photo: Robert D. Miller

Professor

Director, Biology Molecular Biology Facility
Director, Center for Evolutionary and Theoretical Immunology

Email: 
rdmiller@unm.edu
Phone: 
505-277- 5508
Office: 
Castetter Hall 2666
Website

Research Area(s)

Immunology,  Vertebrate Biology

Donald O. Natvig

Photo: Donald O. Natvig

Professor

Director, UNM Sevilleta Field Station

Email: 
dnatvig@unm.edu
Phone: 
505-277-5977
Office: 
Castetter Hall 3582
Website

Research Area(s)

Genetics,  Microbial Ecology

Seth Newsome

Photo: Seth Newsome

Associate Professor

Email: 
newsome@unm.edu
Phone: 
831-566-3276
Office: 
Castetter Hall 190
Website

Research Area(s)

Animal Ecology,  Physiological Ecology,  Vertebrate Biology

William T. Pockman

Photo: William T. Pockman

Professor

Email: 
pockman@unm.edu
Phone: 
505-277-2724
Office: 
Castetter Hall 3584
Website

Research Area(s)

Global Change Biology,  Physiological Ecology,  Plant Biology,  Terrestrial Ecology

Steven Poe

Photo: Steven Poe

Associate Professor

Email: 
anolis@unm.edu
Phone: 
505-277-5140
Office: 
Castetter Hall 88
Website

Research Area(s)

Evolutionary Biology,  Molecular Evolution,  Systematics/Phylogenetics

Jennifer A. Rudgers

Photo: Jennifer A. Rudgers

Regents' Professor

Director, Sevilleta Long Term Ecological Research

Email: 
jrudgers@unm.edu
Phone: 
505-277-6185
Office: 
Castetter Hall 286
Website

Research Area(s)

Comparative Biology,  Conservation Biology,  Evolutionary Biology,  Global Change Biology,  Invertebrate Biology,  Microbial Ecology,  Plant Biology,  Terrestrial Ecology

Irene Salinas

Photo: Irene Salinas

Associate Professor

Email: 
isalinas@unm.edu
Phone: 
505-277-0039
Office: 
Castetter Hall 2564
Website

Research Area(s)

Comparative Biology,  Immunology,  Microbial Pathogenesis,  Vertebrate Biology

Dorothy C. Scholl

Photo: Dorothy C. Scholl

Principal Lecturer

Email: 
scholld@unm.edu
Phone: 
505-277-1380
Office: 
Castetter Hall 75

Felisa A. Smith

Photo: Felisa A. Smith

Professor

Email: 
fasmith@unm.edu
Phone: 
505-277-6725
Office: 
Castetter Hall 1462

Research Area(s)

Animal Ecology,  Historic Ecology,  Paleoecology,  Terrestrial Ecology,  Vertebrate Biology

Mubarak H. Syed

Photo: Mubarak Hussain Syed

Assistant Professor

Email: 
syedm@unm.edu
Office: 
215 Castetter Hall
Website

Research Area(s)

Cell Biology,  Developmental Biology,  Genetics

Cristina D. Takacs-Vesbach

Photo: Cristina D. Takacs-Vesbach

Professor

Chair, Biology Department
Director, Minority Access to Research Careers

Email: 
cvesbach@unm.edu
Phone: 
505-277-3418
Office: 
Castetter Hall 3568
Website

Research Area(s)

Aquatic Ecology,  Microbial Ecology,  Terrestrial Ecology

Lee Taylor

Photo: Lee Taylor

Professor

Email: 
fflt@unm.edu
Phone: 
505-277-0577
Office: 
Castetter Hall 3580
Website

Eric C. Toolson

Photo: Eric C. Toolson

Professor

Email: 
toolson@unm.edu
Office: 
Castetter Hall 1564

Research Area(s)

Animal Ecology,  Comparative Biology,  Evolutionary Biology,  Global Change Biology,  Invertebrate Biology,  Mathematical Biology,  Physiological Ecology,  Terrestrial Ecology,  Theoretical Biology

Thomas F. Turner

Photo: Thomas F. Turner

Professor

Curator, Division of Fishes, The Museum of Southwestern Biology

Email: 
turnert@unm.edu
Phone: 
505-277-7541
Office: 
CERIA 306
Website

Research Area(s)

Aquatic Ecology,  Molecular Evolution,  Population Genetics & Phylogenetics,  Systematics/Phylogenetics

Helen J. Wearing

Photo: Helen J. Wearing

Professor

Email: 
hwearing@unm.edu
Phone: 
505-277-0357
Office: 
Castetter Hall 106
Website

Research Area(s)

Mathematical Biology

Kenneth D. Whitney

Photo: Kenneth D. Whitney

Professor

Email: 
whitneyk@unm.edu
Phone: 
505-277-4408
Office: 
Castetter Hall 282A
Website

Research Area(s)

Comparative Biology,  Conservation Biology,  Evolutionary Biology,  Genetics,  Plant Biology,  Terrestrial Ecology

Christopher C. Witt

Photo: Christopher C. Witt

Professor

Director, Museum of Southwestern Biology
Curator, Division of Birds, Museum of Southwestern Biology

Email: 
cwitt@unm.edu
Phone: 
505-277-8169
Office: 
CERIA 228
Website

Research Area(s)

Animal Ecology,  Comparative Biology,  Conservation Biology,  Evolutionary Biology,  Molecular Evolution,  Systematics/Phylogenetics,  Vertebrate Biology

Satya M. Witt

Photo: Satya M. Witt

Senior Lecturer

Email: 
smwitt@unm.edu
Phone: 
505-277-2940
Office: 
Science & Math Learning Center 168

Blair O. Wolf

Photo: Blair O. Wolf

Professor

Email: 
wolf@unm.edu
Phone: 
505-277-4122
Office: 
Castetter Hall 1442

Research Area(s)

Animal Ecology,  Comparative Biology,  Global Change Biology,  Physiological Ecology,  Terrestrial Ecology,  Vertebrate Biology