Current Semester Undergraduate Courses

*Please check current course catalog at the Registrar website for most up-to-date course list

Summer 2022

This course is the first of two that serve as an introduction to human anatomy and physiology for Biology majors and allied health students. The course entails describing, explaining, and analyzing structure and function from the submicroscopic to the organismal level with emphasis on anatomic, directional, and sectional terminology, basic cellular structure and metabolism, tissue differentiation and characteristics, and organ system structure and functionÍž Specifically the integumentary, skeletal, muscular, and nervous systems. Three lectures. Prerequisite: ((1140 and 1140L) or 2110C) and (CHEM 1120C or CHEM 1215).

Sections
#CRNTime/LocationInstructorCreditsSeats Available
00128146

MTWR 10:30 AM - 11:45 AM
Castetter Hall (Biology) 100

Web Enhanced - Lecture
Dorothy C Scholl - scholld@unm.edu383

This course is the second of two that serve as an introduction to human anatomy and physiology for biology majors and allied health students. The course entails describing, explaining, and analyzing structure and function from the submicroscopic to the organismal level with emphasis on specific cellular, tissue, and organ structure and physiology, and organ system structure and functionÍž specifically the endocrine, cardiovascular, respiratory, urinary, and reproductive systems. Additionally, an analysis of these concepts is included: fluid and electrolyte balance, pregnancy, growth and development from zygote to newborn, and heredity. Three lectures. Prerequisite: 2210.

Sections
#CRNTime/LocationInstructorCreditsSeats Available
00228147

MTWR 9:00 AM - 10:15 AM
Castetter Hall (Biology) 51

Web Enhanced - Lecture
Dorothy C Scholl - scholld@unm.edu330

Introduction to concepts in ecology and evolution including history of evolutionary thought; microevolution (including natural selection); speciation; macroevolution; patterns of species diversity and abundance; organismal, behavioral, population, community and ecosystem ecology; and conservation biology. Prerequisite: 2410C. Pre- or corequisite: 303L and (MATH 1430 or MATH 1512).

Sections
#CRNTime/LocationInstructorCreditsSeats Available
00127619

MTWR 9:00 AM - 10:15 AM
Castetter Hall (Biology) 100

Web Enhanced - Lecture
Thomas L Kennedy - tkennedy@unm.edu313

Exploration of relationships between structure and function in plants and animals including plant growth; transport; nutrition; reproduction; development; control systems; and animal nutrition; circulation; reproduction; development; and immune, control and nervous systems. Prerequisite: 303 and 303L and ((CHEM 1225 and CHEM 1225L) or CHEM 1227). Pre- or corequisite: 304L and (MATH 1430 or MATH 1512).

Sections
#CRNTime/LocationInstructorCreditsSeats Available
00127622

MTWR 11:00 AM - 12:15 PM
Castetter Hall (Biology) 55

Web Enhanced - Lecture
Thomas L Kennedy - tkennedy@unm.edu321

Anatomy, physiology and ecology of microorganisms. Principles of bacterial techniques, host-parasite relationships and infection and immunity. Three lectures. Credit for both this course and BIOL 2305 may not be applied toward a degree program. Prerequisite: 304 and 304L. Pre- or corequisite: **352L.

Sections
#CRNTime/LocationInstructorCreditsSeats Available
00129481

MTWR 11:00 AM - 12:15 PM
Castetter Hall (Biology) 51

Web Enhanced - Lecture
Diana E Northup - dnorthup@unm.edu38
Fees: $5

Original theoretical and/or experimental work under supervision. Work for the thesis is carried on throughout the senior year. A maximum of 4 credit hours may be applied toward the Biology major; additional credit hours contribute to upper-level Arts and Sciences requirements.

Sections
#CRNTime/LocationInstructorCreditsSeats Available
00110256


Independent Study
Scott L Collins - scollins@unm.edu1 TO 325
00210257


Independent Study
Joseph A Cook - cookjose@unm.edu1 TO 325
00310258


Independent Study
David T Hanson - dthanson@unm.edu1 TO 325
00410259


Independent Study
Christopher A Johnston - johnstca@unm.edu1 TO 325
00510260


Independent Study
Lisa N Barrow - lnbarrow@unm.edu1 TO 325
00610261


Independent Study
Eric Y Denkers - edenkers@salud.unm.edu1 TO 325
00719831


Independent Study
Davorka Gulisija - dgulisija@unm.edu1 TO 325
00810263


Independent Study
Marcy E Litvak - mlitvak@unm.edu1 TO 325
00910264


Independent Study
Ellen O Martinson - emartinson@unm.edu1 TO 325
01010265


Independent Study
Vincent G Martinson - vmartinson@unm.edu1 TO 325
01110266


Independent Study
Robert D Miller - rdmiller@unm.edu1 TO 325
01210267


Independent Study
Jennifer A Rudgers - jrudgers@unm.edu1 TO 324
01310268


Independent Study
Donald O Natvig - dnatvig@unm.edu1 TO 325
01410269


Independent Study
Seth D Newsome - newsome@unm.edu1 TO 325
01510270


Independent Study
Cristina D Takacs - cvesbach@unm.edu1 TO 325
01610271


Independent Study
Eric C Toolson - toolson@unm.edu1 TO 325
01710272


Independent Study
Thomas F Turner - turnert@unm.edu1 TO 325
01824567


Independent Study
Donald L Taylor - fflt@unm.edu1 TO 325
01910274


Independent Study
Kenneth Whitney - whitneyk@unm.edu1 TO 325
02010275


Independent Study
Hannah E Marx - hmarx@unm.edu1 TO 325
02122018


Independent Study
Mubarak Hussain Syed - syedm@unm.edu1 TO 325
02310278


Independent Study
Blair O Wolf - wolf@unm.edu1 TO 325
02517232


Independent Study
Irene Salinas - isalinas@unm.edu1 TO 325
02618548


Independent Study
Ben Hanelt - bhanelt@unm.edu1 TO 325

A maximum of 4 credit hours may be applied toward the Biology major. A maximum of 2 credit hours may be applied toward the Biology minor. Additional credit hours contribute to upper-level Arts and Sciences requirements. Restriction: senior standing and permission of instructor.

Sections
#CRNTime/LocationInstructorCreditsSeats Available
T: Molecular Neurobiology
00130342


Topics
Jason P Weick - jpweick@salud.unm.edu14
Fees: $5

Continually changing selection of sections that satisfy upper-division Interdisciplinary breadth requirement. Prerequisite: 304 and 304L. Restriction: junior or senior standing.

Sections
#CRNTime/LocationInstructorCreditsSeats Available
T: Southwest Field Ecology
00430171

Jun. 6, 2022 - Jun. 12, 2022

Open Learning - Topics
Richard E Anderson - rianderson@unm.edu3 Section Full
Fees: $440

A maximum of 2 credit hours may be applied toward the Biology major. Not accepted toward the Biology minor. Restriction: junior or senior standing and permission of instructor.

Sections
#CRNTime/LocationInstructorCreditsSeats Available
00310287Independent StudySeth D Newsome - newsome@unm.edu1 TO 325
00610290Independent StudyLisa N Barrow - lnbarrow@unm.edu1 TO 325
00710291Independent StudyScott L Collins - scollins@unm.edu1 TO 325
00810292Independent StudyJoseph A Cook - cookjose@unm.edu1 TO 325
00910293Independent StudyEric Y Denkers - edenkers@salud.unm.edu1 TO 325
01010294Independent StudyKim D Eichhorst - kimde@unm.edu1 TO 324
01110295Independent StudyChristopher C Witt - cwitt@unm.edu1 TO 324
01210296Independent StudyDavorka Gulisija - dgulisija@unm.edu1 TO 325
01410298Independent StudyDavid T Hanson - dthanson@unm.edu1 TO 325
01510299Independent StudyChristopher A Johnston - johnstca@unm.edu1 TO 325
01610300Independent StudyBen Hanelt - bhanelt@unm.edu1 TO 325
01710301Independent StudyMarcy E Litvak - mlitvak@unm.edu1 TO 325
01910303Independent StudyEllen O Martinson - emartinson@unm.edu1 TO 325
02010304Independent StudyVincent G Martinson - vmartinson@unm.edu1 TO 325
02110305Independent StudyRobert D Miller - rdmiller@unm.edu1 TO 325
02220898


Independent Study
Kelly B Miller - kbmiller@unm.edu1 TO 310
02310307Independent StudyHelen J Wearing - hwearing@unm.edu1 TO 325
02410308Independent StudyJennifer A Rudgers - jrudgers@unm.edu1 TO 325
02610310Independent StudyWilliam T Pockman - pockman@unm.edu1 TO 325
02710311Independent StudySteven Poe - anolis@unm.edu1 TO 325
03110315Independent StudyCristina D Takacs - cvesbach@unm.edu1 TO 325
03310317Independent StudyEric C Toolson - toolson@unm.edu1 TO 325
03410318Independent StudyThomas F Turner - turnert@unm.edu1 TO 325
03610320Independent StudyKenneth Whitney - whitneyk@unm.edu1 TO 325
03710321Independent StudySara V Brant - sbrant@unm.edu1 TO 324
03910323Independent StudyBlair O Wolf - wolf@unm.edu1 TO 325
04020921


Independent Study
Irene Salinas - isalinas@unm.edu1 TO 325
04110325Independent StudyRobert R Parmenter - parmentr@unm.edu1 TO 325
04210326Independent StudyPaul J Watson - pwatson@unm.edu1 TO 325
04322759


Independent Study
Donald L Taylor - fflt@unm.edu1 TO 325
04510329Independent StudyDonald O Natvig - dnatvig@unm.edu1 TO 325
04710331Independent StudyWilliam L Gannon - wgannon@unm.edu1 TO 325
04823944


Independent Study
Hannah E Marx - hmarx@unm.edu1 TO 325
04910333Independent StudyMubarak Hussain Syed - syedm@unm.edu1 TO 325
05110334Independent StudyFelisa A Smith - fasmith@unm.edu1 TO 325