2023 - 2024 Biology Faculty Committee Assignments

1 Sep 2023 Revised 7 Feb 2024

Chair Tina Vesbach

Associate Chairs
Mike Andersen (Irene
Salinas in Fall assisting)
Ken Whitney

Department Administration

DEI Committee
Joe Cook, Chair
Don Natvig
Kelly Howe
Alex Webster
Shannon Withycombe
(History)
Megan Hudgell
Melissa Sanchez, MBF
Tyler Clayshulte, advising
Jordan Sampson, BGSA

Greenhouses Ken Whitney, Chair David Hanson Wesley Noe Maya Allen, BGSA

Field Programs and Vehicles
Blair Wolf

<u>Library Liaison</u> Chris Johnston

Seminars Ellen Martinson

Space/Buildings
Mike Andersen, Chair
Lomeli Shull
Vince Martinson
Phil Johnston

Donna George Kourtney Zimmerly, BGSA

Promotion and Tenure
Tom Turner, Chair
Dorothy Scholl
Blair Wolf
Eric Toolson

Annual Faculty Review
Chris Johnston, Chair
Matt Hurteau
Chris Witt
Marcy Litvak
Steve Poe

Sabbatical Review Mike Andersen Ken Whitney

Brown Bag Seminar Moses Michaelson Kathleen Webster, BGSA

<u>Department Website</u> Will Pockman Jenna Fonta

BGSA Computer Pod Jonathan Keller, BGSA

Unit Administration

LTER Director
Jennifer Rudgers

Sevilleta Field Station Director TBD

REU Sites Program
Director
Scott Collins

MARC / U-RISE
Tina Vesbach, Director
Helen Wearing,
Associate Director

PREP Director Kelly Miller

SEP (Student Experience
Project) GTA Support
Committee
Satya Witt, Chair
Moses Michelson
Julieta Bettinelli
Nicole Caimi
Jenna Fonta

CETI Director Rob Miller

Mol. Biology Core Director Rob Miller

<u>Cell Biology Core Director</u> Eric Denkers

Controlled Environments
Core Director
Coen Adema

UNM Center for Stable
Isotopes
Seth Newsome, Assoc.
Director

Graduate Program

Graduate student advocates Helen Wearing Mike Andersen

Biology Graduate Student
Association (BGSA)
Ben Garcia, BGSA
Jordan Sampson, BGSA
Mike Andersen

Grad Student Selection
Scott Collins, Chair
Andrea McQuate
Lisa Barrow
Eric Denkers
Eric Toolson
Tyler Clayshulte

2022-2023 Biology Committeee Assignments

Cory Henn, BGSA

Graduate Policy
Mike Andersen, Chair
Lee Taylor
Irene Salinas
Ken Whitney
Davorka Gulisija
Tyler Clayshulte
Ethan Gyllenhaal, BGSA

New Grad Student
Orientation
Irene Salinas
Tyler Clayshulte

Scholarships
Kelly Miller, Chair
Ben Hanelt
Chris Witt
Hannah Marx
Syed Mubarak
Tyler Clayshulte
Tayli Larreategui
Antonia Androski, BGSA

Undergraduate Program

Dept Assessment
Coordinator
Kelly Howe

Gen Ed Assessment Coordinator Satya Witt

Graduation
Don Natvig, Co-Chair
Kimran Buckholz, Co-Chair
Julieta Bettinelli
Phil Johnston
Jordan Sampson, BGSA
Tayli Larreategui

Honors Program
Jenn Rudgers
Seth Newsome

Debi Garcia

Jenna Fonta (email biohonors)

Undergraduate Policy
Committee
Coen Adema, Chair
Lee Taylor
Blair Wolf
Steve Poe
Moses Michelsohn
Amanda Stanfield
Danielle Land, BGSA

<u>Undergraduate Advising</u> <u>resources</u> Amanda Stanfield

BA/MD Committee on
Curriculum and Student
Progress
Amanda Stanfield
Kelly Howe
Chris Johnston
Helen Wearing

BA/MD Basic Science Subcommittee Chris Johnston Helen Wearing

Research Day
Seth Newsome, CoChair
Syed Mubarak, CoChair
Joanne Kuestner
Tayli Larreategui
Debi Garcia
Donna George
Adil Wani, BGSA
Rachel Seddon, BGSA

Parasitology Search TBD

Pre-Vet Advising Eric Denkers

BUGS Kelly Howe Jessica Belmares-Ortega, BGSA

Slice of Bio Kelly Howe Moses Michelsohn Kimran Buckholz

Museum Administration

Museum of SW Biology Chris Witt, Director Kelly Miller, Assoc. Director

Museum of SW Biology **Exec Committee** Chris Witt. Chair MSB Curators: Lisa Barrow, Amphibians/Reptiles Kelly Miller, Arthropods Chris Witt, Birds Tom Turner, Fishes Mike Andersen. Genomic Resources Hannah Marx, Herbarium Joe Cook, Mammals Sam Loker, Parasites Esteban Muldavin, Director, NM Natural Heritage

College & University Committee Service

Animal Care and Use Sara Brant, Chair Chris Witt, vice-Chair Tom Giermakowski Jon Dunnum Emily DeArmon Jennifer Sharp, BARF

Faculty Committee on Governance Satya Witt

Provost's Advisory Review Committee

Matt Hurteau

A&S Strategic Planning Committee

Marcy Litvak

A&S Research Strategy

Committee Irene Salinas

A&S Assessment Review

Committee Satya Witt

A&S Lecturer Promotion

Satya Witt

A&S Mid-pro Retention

Committee

Mike Andersen, Chair

A&S Curriculum

Marcy Litvak

Faculty Development

Council

Irene Salinas

Faculty Senate

Chris Johnston

Senate graduate and professional committee

Lee Taylor

Goldwater Scholar Selection Committee

Felisa Smith

Latin Am & Iberian Inst

Grants and Awards

Committee Joe Cook

Office of Research Compliance Expert

Advisory Committee

Rob Miller

UNM Chemical & Laboratory Safety

Committee Will Pockman Chris Witt

Global and National Security Policy Institute

Will Pockman

UNM Institutional **Biosafety Committee**

Eric Denkers Coen Adema

Center for Stable

Isotopes Steering

Committee David Hanson

CARC Internal Advisory

Board

Lee Taylor

Blair Wolf

University COI

Committee

Irene Salinas

College Sabbatical

Request Matt Hurteau ADVANCE UNM

Internal Advisory Board

Dave Hanson

Natural History Science

Center Planning Committee

Chris Witt

UNM Museum Studies Program Exec Council

Chris Witt, Chair

Water Sustainability

Grand Challenge

Marcy Litvak, co-

convener

Cancer Center Microscopy Oversight Committee

Irene Salinas

UNM FIRST Leadership and Faculty Development

Core Direction Irene Salinas

Fire Safety Capital

Committee Chris Witt

ARID Institute

Marcy Litvak, Co-Director Jenn Rudgers, Co-Director

New Mexico Reforestation

Center advisory board

Matt Hurteau