UNM Logo

Department of Biology
167 Castetter Hall
Telephone: (505) 277-3411

UNM Biology, Castetter Hall 1480
MSC03-2020, 219 Yale Blvd NE
Albuquerque, NM 87131-0001

Join / Leave UNMBio-L

Main Page Photo Credits

UNM Biology News Archive

Listed Alphabetically by the Organization's Name or by Person's Last Name, Then Date

The International Biometals Society’s
2014 Heritage Award
Dr. Larry L. Barton Feb. 2014
BEMP & Watershed Watch
Share Research Results
BEMP May 2014
Hands-on Science with Kids BEMP May 2014
BEMP's Children's Hour BEMP August 2013
September 2014 Departmental News UNM Dept. of Biology Sept. 2014
Biology Department Mentors a
N.M. Regional Science Fair Winner
UNM Dept. of Biology April 2014
2014 Outstanding Departmental Colleagues UNM Dept. of Biology April 2014
Phase I Addition Wins Award UNM Dept. of Biology Dec. 2010
Service on PNAS Editoral Board Dr. James H. Brown Feb. 2014
Uppsala University Honors Dr. James H. Brown Jan. 2009
ASM Honoraria Member Election Dr. James H. Brown July 2006
Election to the National Academy
of Sciences
Dr. James H. Brown May 2005
Robert H. MacArthur Award in Ecology Dr. James H. Brown Oct. 2003
Scaling Laws Dr. James H. Brown Sept. 2003
American Academy
of Arts & Sciences Honors
Eric L. Charnov Apr. 2009
CETI Awarded $5.4 Million Grant CETI June 2014
Dan Coleman Awarded Graduate Student
Success Scholarship
Dan Coleman Aug. 2014
Cripps' Lab Discover Gene
Controlling Muscle Fate
Dr. Richard M. Cripps Sept. 2014
Mentors a Science Fair Winner Dr. Richard M. Cripps March 2014
Interview on NPR Dr. Richard M. Cripps Sept. 2005
Grant to Study Embryo Fly Heart Dr. Richard M. Cripps Mar. 2005
UNM'S 2007 Research Lecturer Dr. Clifford N. Dahm Nov. 2006
2014 Biology Undergraduate SACNAS Awards Carol Deaton &
Rosario Marroquin Flores
Oct. 2014
Prestigous Award in Parasitology Dr. Randy DeJong July 2004
Presentation Award Armand Dichosa March 2007
Awarded ASM's 2013–2016 Watkins
Minority Graduate Research Fellowship
Tammi Duncan August 2013
Awarded 2013 McGhee Memorial Lectureship
by the American Society of Parasitologists
Dr. Donald W. Duszynski June 2013
New Book Published Dr. Donald W. Duszynski Sept. 2009
Honored by ASP Dr. Donald W. Duszynski June 2007
Colorado State University Honor Dr. Donald W. Duszynski Aug. 2006
Morgan Ernest at Utah State University Morgan S.K. Ernest June 2005
CETI Researchers Work Philp Gerrish Mar. 2009
National Mammalogy Fellowship Awarded Jacob Goheen July 2004
Research on the Horsehair Worm Dr. Ben Hanelt May 2014
Detecting a Botanical SOS Dr. David T. Hanson Sept. 2005
Chasing Snails to Help Mankind Dr. Lynn Hertel Dec. 2002
ASTMH'S Shope Fellowship Award Dr. Christine Hice Aug. 2006
Land Iguana Reintroduction Dr. Bruce V. Hofkin Mar. 2005
Research Greatly Revises a Genus of Cockroach Heidi Hopkins Feb. 2014
2014 A&S Weber Teaching Award Dr. Kelly A. Howe &
Marieken Shaner
July 2014
Department Programs Receive NIH Grants IMSD & PREP Programs March 2013
Research into Spontaneous Mutations Dr. Vaishali Katju Nov. 2013
Teaches Middle School Kids Jason Kimble May 2014
Awarded Grand Challenges Explorations Grants Drs. Eric S. Loker
& Coen Adema
Dec. 2013
Awarded 2010 AIBS
Distinguished Scientists Award
Long Term Ecological Research (LTER) May 2010
Elected to Board of Directors of Flora
North American Association
Dr. Timothy K. Lowrey Oct. 2009
INRAM Consortium Creates
a Biodiversity Electronic Database

Dr. Timothy K. Lowrey June 2005
Studying Contaminants
in the Rio Grande & Groundwater
Maceo Martinet June 2005
Awarded A Miegunyah
Distinguished Visiting Fellowship
Dr. Robert D. Miller June 2009
Opossum Research Highlighted Dr. Robert D. Miller May 2007
Helps Gives Teachers Science Lessons Dr. Bruce T. Milne July 2014
U.S. Chapter of the International Association
of Landscape Ecology Honor
Dr. Bruce T. Milne April 2006
NSF Grant Enables Statewide
Sustainable Energy Research in New Mexico
William Michener May 2013
Receives the Odum Award Dr. Manual C. Molles June 2014
Prestigious ASPB
Summer Undergraduate Research Fellowship
Christy Monzon May 2005
Aldo Leopold Leadership Fellowship Awarded Dr. Janice Moore April 2005
Partners with Gifted Life Science
Middle School Class
Museum of Southwestern Biology Jan. 2014
Awarded an NSF a Research Coordinating Network Grant Museum of Southwestern Biology May 2010
2013 Nature Serve Network Award
for Conservation Impact
Natural Heritage
New Mexico
April 2013
Receives NSS Award Dr. Diana Northup Dec. 2013
Interview: Texing Underground Can Save Lives Dr. Diana Northup Jan. 2010
Lava Cave Minerals Are
Actually Microbe Poop
Dr. Diana Northup Nov. 2009
Featured on NOVA Dr. Diana Northup Sept. 2005
Snottites, Phlegm Balls,
and Deadly Gases, Oh My!
Dr. Diana Northup Oct. 2003
Receives the American Naturalist Award Dr. Jordan Okie May 2014
Awarded a LAII Fellowship Janeth Pena April 2014
Named an A&S Regents’ Lecturer Dr. William Pockman May 2010
Southwestern River Otter
Re-discovered in New Mexico
Dr. Paul Polechla May 2005
UNM Retains Travel Grant Dr. Ursula Shepherd Mar. 2005
Mesothermy in the Mesozoic:
Tthe Energetics of Dinosaurs
Dr. Felisa Smith June 2014
Research Explores the Evolution of World’s Mammals over the Past 100 Million Years Dr. Felisa Smith Nov. 2010
Work with Large Mammals and Global Climate Dr. Felisa Smith May 2010
Growing Holy Ghost Ipomosis Phil Tonne & Joy Avritt Sept. 2005
Research on Parasites & Values Dr. Randy Thornhill March 2014
Life's Work Honored in International Symposium Dr. Randy Thornhill Oct. 2013
Work with Parasites, Personality and Politics Dr. Randy Thornhill May 2010
Saving the Rio Grande Silvery Minnow Dr. Thomas F. Turner Sept. 2005
Awarded Outstanding Teacher of the Year Dr. Helen J. Wearing May 2014
Whooping Cough Research Dr. Helen J. Wearing Oct. 2009
Elected President of SACNAS National Board Dr. Margaret Werner-Washburne Jan. 2013
Among 2010 UNM Sarah Belle Brown Award Recipients Dr. Margaret Werner-Washburne May 2010
UNM Arts & Sciences Regents' Professor Dr. Margaret Werner-Washburne May 2009
Elected AAAS Fellow Dr. Margaret Werner-Washburne Nov. 2005
NACNAS Distinguished Scientist Award Dr. Margaret Werner-Washburne Oct. 2005
Honored By ASCB Dr. Margaret Werner-Washburne April 2005
2003 Presidential Award for Excellence
in Science, Mathematics
and Engineering Mentoring
Dr. Margaret Werner-Washburne July 2004
Research on Herbivores Dr. Kenneth D. Whitney July 2014
Distinguished Public Talk on
High Altitude Adaptation in Andean Birds
Dr. Christopher C. Witt Oct. 2009
Member of Board of Life Sciences,
Dr. Terry L. Yates July 2006
Bio Vision 2005 Dr. Terry L. Yates Apr. 2005
Filling in the Tree of Life Dr. Terry L. Yates Oct. 2003
Back to UNM Biology in the News               Back to UNM Biology Home Page