

High School Students/Mentees:

Ms. Lien Tang, a freshman at Manzano high school and a mentee of Dr. Richard Cripps, is one of two APS high school students who qualified for the 2015 Intel International Science and Engineering Fair as a result of being a Senior Division Award winner in this year's Central New Mexico Science and Engineering Research Challenge. Ms. Tang's ongoing project focuses on the genetics of fruit flies. As you may recall, she placed 1st in her "Cellular and Molecular Biology" category and 2nd in the Regional Research Top Junior Division Award in the "Life Science" arena at last year's Central New Mexico Science and Engineering Research Challenge. Ms. Tang will travel to Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania in May for the international competition.

Mr. Jarek Kwiecinski, a sophomore at the Albuquerque Institute for Math and Science who is mentored by Drs. Litvak, Sinsabaugh, and Takacs-Vesbach has also been invited to attend the 2015 Intel International Science and Engineering Fair in Pittsburgh. His project focuses on carbon efficiency. In November 2014, Mr. Kwiecinski presented a talk at the TEDx Youth event on his project entitled "Enhancing microbial processing of carbon in desert soils." A copy of this video can be found on our web site. He was also selected to compete in the BioGENEius Competition in 2014 presented by the Biotech Institute.

Graduate Students:

Ms. Bethaney Fehrenkamp, a CETI Biology graduate student who works with Dr. Rob Miller, recently received a Student Speaking Award. This award afforded her the opportunity to present

work which she co-authors with Ms. Victoria Hansen and Dr. Miller entitled "Maternal Transfer of Immune Factors Throughout Lactation in a Model Marsupial" at the 2015 New Mexico Bioinformatics, Science, and Technology (NMBIST) Symposium which was held at the Drury Plaza Hotel in Santa Fe, March 26-27, 2015. The symposium was sponsored by New Mexico INBRE and NCGR.



Ms. Virginia Thompson, a Biology graduate student working with Dr. Cliff Dahm and the



HydroGeoEcology group was recently featured in the New Mexico Water Resources Research Institute's (NM WRRI) new email monthly news feed, **the New Mexico Water eNews**, which focuses on the latest water topics. Under the guidance of Dr. Dahm, Ms. Thompson received a NM WRRI Student Water Research Grant. The title of her project is "Effects of Forest Fire on Submerged Aquatic Macrophytes: Ecosystem Engineers in New Mexico Mountain Streams". Ms. Thompson is studying the effects of the Las Conchas fire on aquatic ecosystems. She presented this work at the NM WRRI 59th Annual New Mexico Water Conference in November 2014.

The National Science Foundation Graduate Research Fellowship Program (GRFP):

Former IMSD students, Brayon Fremin (5/17/2014) and Claudia Espinoza (7/25/2014), and Rachel Gomez (2012) and Nick Santistevan, former MARC students, have received NSF GRFP awards. The NSF GRFP award recognizes and supports outstanding graduate students who are pursuing research-based master's and doctoral degrees in science and engineering. This award provides three years of support for graduate education.

Bosque Ecosystem Monitoring Program (BEMP):

The Bosque Ecosystem Monitoring Program (BEMP) in conjunction with the Cebrin Goodman Youth Leadership and the Environment Program hosted over 100 participants at the annual Crawford Symposium "Green Trails for the Next Generation" in the UNM Student Union Ballroom on March 3rd, 2015. This symposium gives scientists and students the opportunity to continue Dr. Crawford's vision of pioneering a green trail for learning and achieving in science, especially for young people. This year's gathering focused on the ties between research and restoration with the Rio Grande, its bosque, and its watershed. The keynote speaker was Laura McCarthy, the Director of Conservation Programs at the Nature Conservancy, NM Chapter.

Awards for Outstanding Faculty, Staff, and Graduate Student:

As part of the scholarship award program, this year's outstanding staff and graduate student awards went to Mr. John Cox for outstanding staff and Ms. Natalie Wright for outstanding student. The outstanding faculty award which was determined by the Annual Review Committee in conjunction with the Chair went to Dr. Satya Witt. They will each receive \$500 which can be applied to professional development.



John Cox
Facilities Operations Manager



Natalie Wright Graduate Student



Satya Witt, Ph.D. Lecturer III