2024–2025 Biology Faculty Committee Assignments 16 Sep 2024 (revised 13 Dec 2024)

Dept. Administration

<u>Chair</u> Tina Vesbach

<u>Associate Chairs</u> Ken Whitney Mike Andersen

Academic Program Review Scott Collins, Chair Irene Salinas Marcy Litvak Chris Witt Ken Whitney Mike Andersen Tina Vesbach Ellen Martinson Moses Michelsohn Tayli Lam Tyler Clayshulte Will Mejía-García, BGSA

<u>IDEA</u>

Moses Michelsohn, Chair Joe Cook Amanda Stanfield Alex Webster Hannah Marx (Fall only) Megan Hudgell Melissa Sanchez Tyler Clayshulte Jordan Sampson, BGSA

<u>Greenhouses</u> Ken Whitney, Chair

David Hanson Vince Martinson TBD, BGSA

<u>Field Programs and</u> <u>Vehicles</u> Blair Wolf

Library Liaison Chris Johnston

<u>Seminars</u> Ellen Martinson

Space/Buildings

Mike Andersen, Chair Vince Martinson Lomeli Shull Phil Johnston Tayli Lam Kourtney Zimmerly, BGSA

<u>Promotion and Tenure</u> Rob Miller, Chair Tom Turner Eric Denkers

Annual Faculty Review Chris Johnston, Chair Chris Witt Jenn Rudgers Tom Turner Don Natvig

<u>Sabbatical Review</u> Mike Andersen Ken Whitney

Brown Bag Seminar Moses Michelsohn TBD. BGSA

<u>Department Website</u> Tayli Lam Tyler Clayshulte

BGSA Computer Pod TBD, BGSA

Faculty Searches

<u>NIH FIRST</u> Helen Wearing, Chair Irene Salinas

<u>Lecturers</u> Ken Whitney, Chair Kelly Howe Amanda Stanfield Dale Fastle, BGSA Tayli Lam <u>MSB Parasitology</u> Chris Witt, Chair Joe Cook Don Natvig Alex Webster Tom Giermakowski Ben Hanelt Tayli Lam David Tan, BGSA

<u>MSB Herbarium</u> Mike Andersen, Chair Lisa Barrow Jenn Rudgers Seth Newsome Vince Martinson Sara Brant Amanda Stanfield Tayli Lam Joseph Kleinkopf, BGSA

Search for Next Dept Chair contact Mike Andersen if interested

Unit Administration

LTER Director Jenn Rudgers

<u>Sevilleta Field Station</u> <u>Director</u> Will Pockman

<u>REU Sites Program Director</u> Scott Collins

MARC / U-RISE Tina Vesbach, Director Helen Wearing, Associate Director

PREP Director Kelly Miller

CETI Director Rob Miller

Mol. Biology Core Director Rob Miller

2024–2025 Biology Committee Assignments BGSA Officers and Grad Reps Cell Biology Core Director Eric Denkers

<u>Controlled Environments</u> <u>Core Director</u> Coen Adema

<u>Center for Stable Isotopes</u> Seth Newsome, Assoc. Director

<u>FiRES Center</u> Matt Hurteau, Director

Zebrafish Core co-Directors Andrea McQuate Lomeli Shull

Graduate Program

<u>Graduate Advocates</u> Helen Wearing Mike Andersen

<u>Biology Graduate Student</u> <u>Association (BGSA)</u> Austin Hendricks, President Mike Andersen, Faculty rep

<u>Grad Student Selection</u> Will Pockman, Chair Eric Denkers Andrea McQuate Blair Wolf *(Sp25) Steve Poe *(Sp25) Tyler Clayshulte Esteban Restrepo Cortez, BGSA

<u>Graduate Policy</u> Mike Andersen, Chair Davorka Gulisija Lisa Barrow Rob Miller Tyler Clayshulte Ben Garcia, BGSA

New Grad Student Orientation Mike Andersen Tyler Clayshulte

Scholarships Kelly Miller, Chair Matt Hurteau Eric Toolson Ben Hanelt Tyler Clayshulte Tayli Lam Eve Tipps, BGSA

Undergraduate Program

Dept Assessment Coordinator Kelly Howe

<u>Gen Ed Assessment</u> <u>Coordinator</u> Satya Witt

Party Planning Felisa Smith

<u>Graduation</u> Don Natvig, Co-Chair Kimran Buckholz, Co-Chair Julieta Bettinelli Phil Johnston Tayli Lam Emily Reynebeau, BGSA

<u>Honors Program</u> Jenn Rudgers Seth Newsome

<u>Undergraduate Policy</u> <u>Committee</u> Lee Taylor, Chair Coen Adema *(Sp25) Hannah Marx (Fall only) Eric Toolson Ben Hanelt *(Fa24) Kelly Howe Tom Kennedy *(Sp25) Anejelique Martinez, BGSA

<u>Undergraduate Advising</u> resources Amanda Stanfield

BA/MD Curriculum and Student Progress Amanda Stanfield Kelly Howe Chris Johnston Helen Wearing

BA/MD Basic Science Subcommittee Chris Johnston Helen Wearing

<u>Research Days</u> Seth Newsome, Co-Chair Syed Mubarak, Co-Chair Joanne Kuestner Tayli Lam Jade Knight Kourtney Zimmerly & Jessica Belmares Ortega, BGSA

Pre-Vet Advising Eric Denkers

<u>BUGS</u> Kelly Howe Jessica Belmares-Ortega, BGSA

<u>Slice of Bio</u> Kelly Howe Kimran Buckholz Moses Michelsohn

Museum Administration

<u>Museum of SW Biology</u> Chris Witt, Director Kelly Miller, Assoc. Director

Museum of SW Biology Exec Committee

2024–2025 Biology Committee Assignments | *(Sp/Fa) = sabbatical leave

Chris Witt, Chair *MSB Curators*: Lisa Barrow, Amphibians/Reptiles Kelly Miller, Arthropods Chris Witt, Birds Tom Turner, Fishes Mike Andersen, Genomic Resources Hannah Marx, Herbarium Joe Cook, Mammals Sam Loker, Parasites Esteban Muldavin, Director, NM Natural Heritage

College & University Committee Service

Animal Care and Use Sara Brant, Chair Chris Witt, vice-Chair Tom Giermakowski Jon Dunnum Emily DeArmon Jennifer Sharp, BARF

Faculty Committee on Governance n/a

Provost's Advisory Review Committee Matt Hurteau

<u>A&S Strategic Planning</u> <u>Committee</u> Marcy Litvak

<u>A&S Research Strategy</u> <u>Committee</u> Irene Salinas

<u>A&S Assessment Review</u> <u>Committee</u> Satya Witt

A&S Lecturer Promotion Satya Witt A&S Curriculum Marcy Litvak

<u>Faculty Development</u> <u>Council</u> Irene Salinas

Faculty Senate Satya Witt

<u>Senate graduate and</u> <u>professional committee</u> Lee Taylor

<u>Goldwater Scholar</u> <u>Selection Committee</u> Felisa Smith

Latin Am & Iberian Inst Grants and Awards Committee Joe Cook

Office of Research Compliance Expert Advisory Committee Rob Miller

<u>UNM Chemical &</u> <u>Laboratory Safety</u> <u>Committee</u> Will Pockman Chris Witt

<u>Global and National</u> <u>Security Policy Institute</u> Will Pockman

<u>UNM Institutional</u> <u>Biosafety Committee</u> Coen Adema, co-Chair Eric Denkers

<u>Center for Stable</u> <u>Isotopes Steering</u> <u>Committee</u> David Hanson Blair Wolf <u>CARC Internal Advisory</u> <u>Board</u> Lee Taylor

<u>University COI Committee</u> Irene Salinas

<u>College Sabbatical Request</u> Mike Andersen

ADVANCE UNM Internal Advisory Board Dave Hanson

<u>Natural History Science</u> <u>Center Planning Committee</u> Chris Witt

UNM Museum Studies Program Exec Council Chris Witt, Chair

<u>Water Sustainability Grand</u> <u>Challenge</u> Marcy Litvak, co-convener

<u>Cancer Center Microscopy</u> <u>Oversight Committee</u> Irene Salinas

<u>UNM FIRST Leadership</u> <u>and Faculty Development</u> <u>Core Direction</u> Irene Salinas

<u>Fire Safety Capital</u> <u>Committee</u> Chris Witt

<u>ARID Institute</u> Marcy Litvak, Co-Director Jenn Rudgers, Co-Director

<u>New Mexico Reforestation</u> <u>Center Advisory Board</u> Matt Hurteau

<u>Online Course Advisory</u> <u>Council, CTL</u> Satya Witt

2024–2025 Biology Committee Assignments | *(Sp/Fa) = sabbatical leave