### 2024–2025 Biology Faculty Committee Assignments

16 Sep 2024

**Dept. Administration** 

<u>Chair</u>

Tina Vesbach

Associate Chairs
Ken Whitney
Mike Andersen

Academic Program Review

Scott Collins, Chair Irene Salinas Marcy Litvak Chris Witt Ken Whitney Mike Andersen Tina Vesbach Ellen Martinson Moses Michelsohn Tayli Lam

Tyler Clayshulte

TBD, BGSA

<u>DEI</u>

Moses Michelsohn, Chair

Joe Cook

Amanda Stanfield Alex Webster

Hannah Marx (Fall only)

Megan Hudgell Melissa Sanchez Tyler Clayshulte TBD, BGSA

<u>Greenhouses</u> Ken Whitney, Chair David Hanson

TBD, BGSA

Field Programs and

Vehicles Blair Wolf

<u>Library Liaison</u> Chris Johnston

Seminars Ellen Martinson Space/Buildings

Mike Andersen, Chair Vince Martinson Lomeli Shull Phil Johnston

Tayli Lam Kourtney Zimmerly,

**BGSA** 

Promotion and Tenure

Rob Miller, Chair Tom Turner Eric Denkers

Annual Faculty Review

Chris Johnston, Chair Joe Cook

Jenn Rudgers Tom Turner Don Natvig

Sabbatical Review

Mike Andersen Ken Whitney

Brown Bag Seminar Moses Michelsohn

TBD. BGSA

Department Website

Tavli Lam

Tyler Clayshulte

**BGSA Computer Pod** 

TBD, BGSA

**Faculty Searches** 

NIH FIRST

Helen Wearing, Chair

Irene Salinas

MSB Parasitology

Chris Witt, Chair

Joe Cook Don Natvig

Alex Webster Tom Giermakowski

Ben Hanelt Tayli Lam David Tan. BGSA

MSB Herbarium

Mike Andersen, Chair

Lisa Barrow Jenn Rudgers Seth Newsome Vince Martinson Sara Brant

Amanda Stanfield

Tayli Lam

Joseph Kleinkopf, BGSA

Search for Next Dept Chair

contact Mike Andersen if

interested

**Unit Administration** 

LTER Director

Jenn Rudgers

Sevilleta Field Station

Director

Will Pockman

**REU Sites Program Director** 

Scott Collins

MARC / U-RISE

Tina Vesbach, Director Helen Wearing, Associate

Director

PREP Director

Kelly Miller

CETI Director

Rob Miller

Mol. Biology Core Director

Rob Miller

Cell Biology Core Director

Eric Denkers

Controlled Environments

Core Director Coen Adema

2024–2025 Biology Committee Assignments

<u>Center for Stable Isotopes</u> Seth Newsome, Assoc. Director

<u>FiRES Center</u> Matt Hurteau, Director

#### **Graduate Program**

Graduate Advocates
Helen Wearing
Mike Andersen

Biology Graduate Student
Association (BGSA)
Austin Hendricks, President
Mike Andersen, Faculty rep

Grad Student Selection
Will Pockman, Chair
Eric Denkers
Andrea McQuate
Blair Wolf \*(Sp25)
Steve Poe \*(Sp25)
Tyler Clayshulte
TBD, BGSA

Graduate Policy
Mike Andersen, Chair
Davorka Gulisija
Lisa Barrow
Rob Miller
Tyler Clayshulte
TBD, BGSA

New Grad Student
Orientation
Mike Andersen
Tyler Clayshulte

Scholarships
Kelly Miller, Chair
Matt Hurteau
Eric Toolson
Ben Hanelt
Tyler Clayshulte
Tayli Lam
TBD, BGSA

# Undergraduate Program

Dept Assessment Coordinator Kelly Howe

Gen Ed Assessment Coordinator Satya Witt

Party Planning Felisa Smith

Graduation
Don Natvig, Co-Chair
Kimran Buckholz, CoChair
Julieta Bettinelli
Phil Johnston
Tayli Lam
BGSA

Honors Program
Jenn Rudgers
Seth Newsome

Committee
Lee Taylor, Chair
Coen Adema \*(Sp25)
Hannah Marx (Fall only)
Eric Toolson
Ben Hanelt \*(Fa24)
Kelly Howe
Tom Kennedy \*(Sp25)
TBD, BGSA

Undergraduate Policy

Undergraduate Advising resources
Amanda Stanfield

BA/MD Curriculum and Student Progress Amanda Stanfield Kelly Howe Chris Johnston Helen Wearing BA/MD Basic Science Subcommittee Chris Johnston Helen Wearing

Research Days
Seth Newsome, Co-Chair
Syed Mubarak, Co-Chair
Joanne Kuestner
Tayli Lam
Jade Knight
BGSA

Pre-Vet Advising Eric Denkers

BUGS Kelly Howe Jessica Belmares-Ortega, BGSA

Slice of Bio Kelly Howe Kimran Buckholz Moses Michelsohn

#### **Museum Administration**

Museum of SW Biology Chris Witt, Director Kelly Miller, Assoc. Director

Museum of SW Biology **Exec Committee** Chris Witt, Chair MSB Curators: Lisa Barrow. Amphibians/Reptiles Kelly Miller, Arthropods Chris Witt, Birds Tom Turner, Fishes Mike Andersen, Genomic Resources Hannah Marx, Herbarium Joe Cook, Mammals Sam Loker, Parasites Esteban Muldavin, Director, NM Natural Heritage

# College & University Committee Service

Animal Care and Use Sara Brant, Chair Chris Witt, vice-Chair Tom Giermakowski Jon Dunnum Emily DeArmon Jennifer Sharp, BARF

Faculty Committee on Governance n/a

Provost's Advisory Review
Committee
Matt Hurteau

A&S Strategic Planning Committee Marcy Litvak

A&S Research Strategy Committee Irene Salinas

A&S Assessment Review
Committee
Satya Witt

A&S Lecturer Promotion
Satya Witt

A&S Curriculum
Marcy Litvak

Faculty Development Council Irene Salinas

Faculty Senate Satya Witt

Senate graduate and professional committee Lee Taylor

Goldwater Scholar
Selection Committee
Felisa Smith

Latin Am & Iberian Inst Grants and Awards Committee Joe Cook

Office of Research
Compliance Expert
Advisory Committee
Rob Miller

UNM Chemical & Laboratory Safety Committee Will Pockman Chris Witt

Global and National
Security Policy Institute
Will Pockman

<u>UNM Institutional</u>
<u>Biosafety Committee</u>
Coen Adema, co-Chair
Fric Denkers

Center for Stable
Isotopes Steering
Committee
David Hanson
Blair Wolf

CARC Internal Advisory
Board
Lee Taylor

University COI Committee Irene Salinas

College Sabbatical Request Mike Andersen

ADVANCE UNM Internal Advisory Board Dave Hanson Natural History Science Center Planning Committee Chris Witt

UNM Museum Studies
Program Exec Council
Chris Witt, Chair

Water Sustainability Grand Challenge
Marcy Litvak, co-convener

Cancer Center Microscopy
Oversight Committee
Irene Salinas

UNM FIRST Leadership and Faculty Development Core Direction Irene Salinas

Fire Safety Capital
Committee
Chris Witt

ARID Institute
Marcy Litvak, Co-Director
Jenn Rudgers, Co-Director

New Mexico Reforestation Center Advisory Board Matt Hurteau

Online Course Advisory
Council, CTL
Satya Witt